NYX Lipstick Reviews with Swatches Pt.1

*Note: I want my reviews to be useful so I will try to include links to all products. Most of these links will be from the brand’s website. This is just so you can get a sense of the price set by the brands themselves. This is sometimes higher than the prices found elsewhere, so please be sure to do your research about sales and discounts before buying anything!

One thing I find lacking online are reviews that include actual lip swatches. My arm and my face are two different shades. My lips have some pigmentation so I don’t know what a lipstick will actually look like on my lips if I just look at an arm swatch.

So today I ended up swatching and reviewing the small NYX collection that I brought with me to Bangladesh. I have a whole bunch more back home and will swatch and review those once I go back.

I kept my makeup very minimal and did just a bit of liner on top of my eyes so that the focus would stay on my lips. I used the following products for my makeup:

The NYX lip products I used are:

  1. NYX Lip Lingerie in 08 “Bedtime Flirt” ($7) described as a “Red toned pink”
  2. NYX Liquid Suede in 02 “Life’s a Beach” ($7) described as a “bright coral”
  3. NYX Liquid Suede in 07 “Sandstorm” ($7) described as a “true nude”
  4. NYX Liquid Suede in 04 “Soft Spoken” ($7) described as a “mauve nude”
  5. NYX Liquid Suede in 12 “Vintage” ($7) described as a “plum with mauve undertone”
  6. NYX Liquid Suede in 03 “Cherry Skies” ($7) described as a “deep wine red”
  7. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in 06 “Istanbul” ($6) described as a “clean pink”
  8. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in 19 “Cannes” ($6) described as a “matte muted mauve”
  9. NYX Extra Creamy Round Lipstick in 569 “Snow White” ($4) described as a “deep blue-toned red”

Here are some arm swatches. The lipsticks are the ones mentioned above from top to bottom. My skintone is maybe NC35? I don’t really know. I was matched to MAC’s Matchmaster 5.0 but that was a year ago and it was too dark for me. I’m like 95% sure I have olive undertones that lean on the warm side.

So onto the individual swatches! Please ignore uneven lip lines. I did not use any lip liners with any of these. I have a natural slightly uneven top lip; it’s not just sloppy application. I am also working with a low-end android phone so the photo quality is not the greatest. But I tried my best! Once my phone is fixed, I’ll have a much better camera to work with.

1. Bedtime Flirt Lip Lingerie

Review: I know almost everyone raves about the Lip Lingeries, but for me this ranks as one of the worst liquid lipsticks I’ve ever tried. This was extremely drying on my lips. It swatches beautifully, but on the lips it is a complete disaster. As you can see from the closeup of the lips, it accentuated all of the lines and the color does not suit my skin tone at all. It took a while to dry down, but it did dry down almost completely. But the texture was just a hot mess.

Rating: 1/10  The only positive thing about this is that it does dry down completely.

2. Life’s a Beach Liquid Suede

Review: This is a beautiful bright pink color in the tube. It’s what attracted me to it. I had no idea what I was in for when I bought this. There is a slight plastic smell. It doesn’t apply very well. I needed many coats to make it somewhat work on my lips. It’s very, very tacky and sticky. It doesn’t dry down at all.

Rating: 3/10 It’s a pretty color but isn’t worth the trouble with the application.

3. Sandstorm Liquid 

Review: This is almost an exact match for my natural lip color. Its description of a “true nude” is true enough for me. This doesn’t really do much for my lips, but I love it. It’s easy to apply, extremely comfortable and is the perfect nude to pair with bold eye looks. It dries down almost completely, and doesn’t transfer much. There is no discernible smell.

Rating: 10/10 Easy to apply and comfy too.

4. Soft Spoken Liquid Suede

Review: This was the easiest to apply. It has no smell. It’s like Sandstorm but with a touch of pinkish mauve. This is also great to pair with bold eyes. There is slight transfer and it doesn’t dry down completely. I like how it looks on me 🙂 It reminds me a lot of Lolita from Kat Von D. I’ll be posting swatches of my KVD collection soon so be sure to keep an eye out for that!

Rating: 10/10 Easy to apply lipstick that adds a touch of color to my bare lips.

5. Vintage Liquid Suede

Review: Vintage is different from anything else that I have. I don’t really know how to describe the color. It’s a dark brownish purple on me. There’s no scent. It’s very creamy in texture and I had fun applying it. It glides on the lips so smoothly. You can see that I was able to somehow fix my uneven lip line with the the applicator; I couldn’t really do that with the other lipsticks. It does transfer though, and does not dry completely. It does last a long time if you don’t eat oily meals.

Rating: 9/10 Beautiful unique color that is great for a bold lip (or at least what I consider a bold lip).

 6. Cherry Skies Liquid Suede

Review: No smell. This is a gorgeous dark cherry red that’s true to its name. I think it’s a good red for me. But I don’t really wear reds because I think reds just look weird on me. It’s not transfer proof as it doesn’t dry down completely, but it does feel comfortable on the lips. It has a nice sheen to it.

Rating: 8/10 Gorgeous color. I just wish it would dry down a bit more.

7. Istanbul Soft Matte Lip Cream

Review: The Soft Matte Lip Creams have a vanilla cake smell to them. It’s a pleasant smell but if you’re sensitive to smells then you might want to rethink this formula. Istanbul is a nice pinkish lip. Maybe it clashes a bit with my skin tone, but I still like it. It has a very creamy and comfortable texture, though it is the slightest bit patchy. It does not transfer much, and dries down almost completely.

Rating: 8/10 Pretty and creamy baby pink color that has some patchiness issues.

8. Cannes Soft Matte Lip Cream

Review: This was actually my first NYX lipstick that I ever bought. As a result, it’s also almost empty and used up. I almost didn’t include it in my swatch list but I just had to because this is one of my favorites. This reminds me of Soft Spoken except this is a tiny bit darker. The texture is creamy and the smell is, again, like vanilla cake. I think I have a thing for mauve lipsticks. They look good on me 🙂 Please note that this shade is more pigmented normally, but it didn’t show up here because the tube is almost empty.

Rating: 10/10 This is the perfect lipstick to put on in a hurry. A good MLBB and comfortable to wear. It also lasts a long time on my lips.

9. Snow White Extra Creamy Round Lipstick

Review: I think I’ve been spoiled by liquid lipsticks so I’m not really used to wearing normal lipsticks anymore. I even forget how to apply them. That’s why the application looks so sloppy here. This lipstick really is extra creamy. It wears comfortably. This shade is lighter than Cherry Skies. It’s an apple red hence the name I guess. As it is a normal lipstick there is transfer and you will be needing to reapply it throughout the day.

Rating: 8/10 Beautiful candy apple red that feels great on the lips but will need touching up!

I hope you enjoyed this long review. It took much longer to put this together than I thought, but I had a blast doing it. Expect to see more reviews soon!

Leave a Reply

