Holika Holika Rice Mask

Another Sunday, another sheet review! Today was a rainy day here in Dhaka. It hasn’t rained like this in months! I get inspired by rain so I was in a very good mood today ๐Ÿ™‚ The electricity did go out a lot though so that was kind of annoying. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Anyway, I opted for a brightening mask because my skin has been looking really dull lately. I’ve been neglecting my daily water intake so that’s probably why.

Looking through my collection I found this Holika Holika Pure Essence Sheet Mask in the Rice variety.

holika-rice-sheet-mask
Holika Holika Rice Pure Essence Sheet Mask

The back of the packet states “a brightening sheet [that] makes skin smooth and flawless with rice extract.” This mask was part of the bundle that I bought fromย Korean Cosmetics & Fashion Corner. The cost wasย 90 taka ($1.13) for one mask.

I hadn’t tried a rice mask before so I didn’t know what to expect. I opened the packet and immediately noticed that there was a lot of “essence” inside. I took out the mask itself and found it very difficult to get it open without tearing it. The sheet itself is transparent and very slimy. I was a little grossed out but also a little intrigued. There was a slightly sweet smell to the mask, but it wasn’t too strong.

The fit of the mask was not good at all. You can see on the left when I first applied it, there were many spots of my face that were left uncovered (the sides of my mouth and nose and under my eyes). Once I adjusted it (see pic on the right), I was able to cover those spots but had to sacrifice a little bit of coverage from my forehead. But I was stillย unable to get any coverage for the area above my lips even after adjusting.

I left the mask on for 30 minutes. During this time parts of my face felt a little tingly, but it wasn’t an allergic reaction (I checked to make sure). The tingly feeling wasn’t too bothersome and did go away after a while.

Once the 30 minutes were up, I took off the mask. I glanced in the mirror and even without my glasses on (I have extremely poor vision) I could tell that the mask had brightened up my face considerably. This is, however, just a brightening mask and didn’t provide too much moisture so I had to use my normal moisturizer afterwards.

As you can see from the photos above, there was a visible difference after using the Holika Holika Rice Mask. I always put a little bit of the essence from my masks on my neck and you can see in the photos that both my neck and face were a lot brighter after using it.

Rating: 7.5/10 This mask’s results were amazing and brightened up my skin immensely.ย But I have to deduct some points for the poor fit and the fact that I spent too much time trying to unfold the mask without ripping it apart. I still recommend it if you’re looking for a quick brightening effect.

Leave a Reply

