Innisfree Super Volcanic Pore Clay Mask

My first non-sheet mask skincare review!

I bought this Innisfree Super Volcanic Pore Clay Mask (wow that’s a mouthful!) back in January from The Korean Mall BD.

The cost was 1400 taka ($17.45) for one 100ml jar. The mask can also be found on the Innisfree Website for $15. 

Official Description: 

“Jeju volcanic clay is made from minerals released by volcanic explosions in Jeju. It’s categorized as a preserved alkaline resource and is effective in removing sebum and other impurities.”

It offers 6-in-1 Pore care:

  • Shrinks pores
  • Controls sebum
  • Exfoliates
  • Deeply cleanses
  • Brightens tone
  • Cools

What is Jeju volcanic clay?

“Jeju volcanic clay is made from minerals released by volcanic explosions in Jeju. It’s categorized as a preserved alkaline resource and is effective in removing sebum and other impurities.”

How does it work?

It works by removing sebum “thanks to the Super volcanic capsules
As the capsule bursts, the mask exfoliates and removes dead skin cells. The AHA ingredient chemically exfoliates and smoothes out skin.” It “clears, contracts, and refreshes” pores by absorbing sebum and the clay gives a cooling effect to the skin while contracting the pores.

Directions for usage:

“After washing your face, gently apply toner on your face to even out your skin texture. Then, apply the mask over your entire face, avoiding your eye and lip areas. Rinse off the mask with lukewarm water after 10 minutes.”

As you can see, the size of the jar is relatively small and fits in the palm of my hands. Inside, it is packed with the mask contents. The mask has a greyish-brown color to it and has a thick, clay consistency. It feels exactly like I would expect volcanic clay to feel like- thick and ashy.

Here it is on my face:

The first time I applied it on my face, I had a little trouble getting used to the thickness. I’m so used to more lightweight cleansers and masks, so this was a new feeling to me. Once applied, the mask is taut against the skin. I could literally feel the pores tighten up as the mask dried. It was a cool, but weird feeling. I didn’t really feel the cooling effect that the mask claims to have, maybe it was there towards the end as the mask hardened and dried up. I had the mask on for about 13-15 minutes, so a little bit more than the recommended time. I noticed that by this point, the mask was really, really tight as seen below:

Innisfree Volcanic Pore Mask Applied Face Tight Wrinkle
Ignore the weird face. I’m just trying to show just how tight the mask got towards the end.

Results: There isn’t much of a visible different to my face after applying the mask. But I did feel a big difference. My skin was left feeling so smooth. I am having some skin issues (when am not having skin issues??) and the mask minimized the redness from my recent breakouts. I normally have dry skin and the mask did make my skin just a tad drier. But the dryness was mostly felt/experienced during the actual application and not as a result of the mask itself.

As you can see, there’s not much of a difference visually. Here’s another photo of my face after the mask:

There’s a very subtle whitening effect if you look closely. Notice that I said whitening and not brightening. That’s because my skin before had a natural yellowish glow and after the mask my face seems to look a bit pale.

Here are some photos with flash:

You can see how the “pale” effect looks with flash. Here’s another comparison:

My skin definitely felt cleaner even though it may not look like it.

Rating: 9/10 This is a great mask to use once a week as a “deep clean”. It does pretty much exactly what it claims to do by shrinking pores, controlling sebum, exfoliating, and deep cleaning though it didn’t really live up to its coolness claim and the brightening tone was more of a whitening tone. 1 point deducted for those two points and the fact that the application was slightly uncomfortable for my dry skin type. But all in all, I look forward to using this mask every week and hopefully, once I finish all of the jar, I can provide an update in the future as to whether the mask has any lasting effects on my skin.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

